A BEAU-TI-FUL sunrise greeted me at 6:45am! Sometimes it’s really worth getting up at the crack of dawn!

This morning I built a beautiful house made from magnet blocks with my little 4-year-old friend. Good times!

Travel Day 1

 I made quick work of packing… Be proud people I’m heading out for 1 night and I didn’t bring any options. Thanks so much to my sister for donating the Zebra travel bag to my collection 🙂

My friend Allyson posted on FB the other day a lovely picture of notes from ‘back in the day.’ Do you remember those tiny little folded pieces of notebook paper? Oh the days. I actually have a small box with some of them still in there. Call it a time capsule… Don’t call me a pack rat 😉

 

Anyways I got myself to the train with time to spare. It’s been one of my ‘Burning The Candle At Both Ends’ Resolutions to arrive to places with time to spare. I’m sure you’ll agree that there’s nothing worse than running late, stressing the ride and just making it by the skin of your teeth!

                                       Train ride was nice. I wasn’t able to get my WIFI to work on the Acela. So, I continued to devour Stieg Larsson’s 3rd book The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest. Mmm!

I snacked on an Apple Cinnamon Power Bar. My dinner Reservations aren’t until 9:30 tonight.

 

 

Health Fact of the Day:

To Curb Cravings: Distract yourself. In one study listed in Health Magazine, volunteers were able to reduce food hankerings by imagining a rainbow or the smell of eucalyptus.

 I arrived safely in NYC, hoped onto the subway, stumbled slightly with directions around Central Park and finally arrived a little sweaty to the New York Athletic Club… I love Summer Weather! I do not love Summer Weather while wearing a Black Suit & Heals and carting my luggage with me…

The event was a success and I learned a lot for next time. We packed up and headed to Anthony Bourdain’s old stomping grounds Brasserie Les Halles. I enjoyed a delicious Onion Soup and House Salad with a glass of Riesling. I have to say that at 9:30 at night I’m not really game for a big meal. Everything was great.

We then walked 2 blocks and 6 avenues to the Hilton, Fashion District. Again did I mention I was wearing a Black Suit, Heals and carting my luggage? That’s why I say 6 avenues. For those of you who don’t know… Avenues are the size of 2 or 3 city blocks…

I wasn’t pretty when I arrived at check-in, but I sure was thankful that my room was ready and waiting for me!

Question of the day:

Have you ever had a travel experience when you thought your feet would fall off? 🙂

See above for my most recent!

Stay tuned for my adventures from Travel Day 2

